Skip to content
May 4, 2013 / Amy

Songs of the Week(end) #5

Time for the weekend again. This week is hectic for me, but I still managed to squeeze a blog post here, and listened to some new songs. Well here it is!

Daughter :: Get Lucky

I’ve raved about Daft Punk’s new tune on my previous blog post, and this time, it’s about a cover! I love Youth, and this one by Daughter is no disappointment. She’s put a really nice chill twist to the song, and completely made it her own, and I just love it as it is! I can’t decide whether I liked this or the orginal more. The bass here after the bridge is killing! Imagine listening to this in a convertible, pulling the roof down, cruising down the highway in this majestic song. URGH…..it’s ultimate HIGHgasm.

Jessica Sanchez :: Tonight

I actually watched the last American Idol(not the current one with Nicki urgh!) again because I thought they had potential players like Joshua Ledet and including Jessica herself. When Joshua was showed the door in the top 3, I was actually hoping for Jessica to win the title. But Philip Phillips won, and well, it’s not exactly a bad thing, but I find it a pity that she didn’t win cause she’s talented! Anyway, here’s her first single, featuring Ne-Yo, and the more I listen to it, the more I actually like it! Sure it’s pop, and Ne-Yo probably had something to do with it, but I just find it feel-good to listen to especially during the weekend. Good for you Jess, maybe you may just prove Idol wrong. I’d like to see where her success will lead her. Gosh, she’s growing up so fast!

Kaskade :: Summer Lovin

I came across this video, and I really like the sound, and I love how they were being creative with the ‘spray tanning’. Hehe! I think this isn’t the full song, but more of a tour promotion, and it won’t be out until the Summer. Kaskade…you lil’ tease. If only they would release the full album. Oh well, this will have to do for now.

Fiz Damit :: Submission3

Okay, this video has nothing to do with the song. I’m bringing this up, because I wanna rave about this particular dancer who recently took part in a dance competition here in Brunei. And well, he’s really good! I managed to watch him dance a full routine of this live (well through an iPad), and he certainly lived up to that expectation or even possibly exceeding them. I had no idea there are really talented individuals(or as a group for that matter) here in Brunei, and I find it a shame that it’s not fully embraced or further encouraged to bring out their creativity and passion. Hey, if it was being addicted to dance or drugs, I would pick the former any day! Dance is universal, and so is music. So cheers to this fellow here, he deserves the spotlight.

Well, hope you have a good weekend. After tonight, I think I’m gonna go out like a light bulb and disappear for about a week or two. I need to catch my sleep!

Leave a Reply

