Skip to content
April 26, 2013 / Amy

Songs of the Week(end) #4

Okay, this episode of Songs of the Week(end) can get really steamy! But I think it’s also refreshing to have a bit of RnB as my picks instead of my favourite house tunes. Anyway, here they are.

Robin Thicke ft. TI & Pharell :: Blurred Lines

Three sexy males. Three sexy ladies. And it’s heating up! I am a fan of Thicke’s Rollacoasta, so when I heard this song, I was intrigued. And I’m smitten because of its extra sexy yet playful vibe. Damn I wish I had those models’s bod!

Ciara :: Body Party

Why do I get the feeling this was extremely auto tuned to the highest degree? Maybe it’s cause I think nobody is able to hit that insanely high note. Nevertheless, I am loving the vibe it’s giving off. I haven’t heard a song I really liked by Ciara for a while and this is refreshing. Welcome back Ciara.

The xx :: Reconsider [Jamie xx Remix]

This is the closest I could find of the original sound. And this is extremely sexy! It’s slow, but that’s what the xx is all about. Taking its time and harmonious beats. Jamie xx is a genius.

Lana Del Rey :: Young and Beautiful

Soundtrack to The Great Gatsby, which I think is quite fitting since Lana has a very retro and classy style about her. Her voice is just as sexy and although it’s a little slow, I find the song meaningful and beautiful.

Macklemore x Ryan Lewis ft. Ray Dalton :: Can’t Hold Us

I didn’t get what the deal was with Macklemore and his Thrift Shop. It was catchy, but overplayed on the radio. I also thought that he was a typical rapper rapping about sex, drugs, women, money, ya know… I was getting tiresome of Pitbull, Akon and the likes…but after listening to his other songs, I realized he’s a little different, like B.O.B. This song is one of my favourites by Macklemore, and it’s refreshing to listen to a rapper who raps about life, reality, and real problems faced by everyday people. Plus, with the cultural drumming, gets a plus from me.

Other notes are David Guetta ft. Akon & Ne-Yo, and I mentioned before that I’m not a fan of  recycled materials and turning into a song for a cheap profit just because you have a big name. This song has potential, but it’s going to the bin for me.

Leave a Reply

